Car Plans!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Secrets, tips, tools, design considerations, materials, the "science" behind it all, and other topics related to building the cars and semi-trucks.
ohiofitter
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

Car Plans!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Post by ohiofitter »

I'm not a very artistic guy,when it's comes to drawing. Is there any websites
out there that give you free car plans? I've seen all the pay sites,and wood not rather buy plans from them.
gpraceman
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Car Plans!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Post by gpraceman »

The Pinewood Derby SuperSite has some good templates that you can use.

http://home.simplyweb.net/bosworth/template.htm

I put these in a binder and let the kids look through them at workshops. For those that don't know what to build at all, it can give them a jump start.
Randy Lisano
Romans 5:8

Awana Grand Prix and Pinewood Derby racing - Where a child, an adult and a small block of wood combine for a lot of fun and memories.
Darin McGrew
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Post by Darin McGrew »

There are car books at the library that seem designed as plans for derby cars. They're coffee-table books, with a different classic car on each page. The cars are shown in left profile, right profile, overhead view, front view, and back view. And the size of the page makes the images about 7 inches long bumper-to-bumper.

But you can use pretty much any picture and a photocopier with a zoom feature. To get it to look right, I recommend matching the size of the car's wheels to the size of the derby car wheels, and working everything else from that. (Rules that restrict axle placement may limit your ability to pull off some designs like this.)
Last edited by Darin McGrew on Tue Sep 25, 2007 2:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
Darin McGrew
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Post by Darin McGrew »

gpraceman wrote:The Pinewood Derby SuperSite has some good templates that you can use.

http://home.simplyweb.net/bosworth/template.htm