Melting Lead

Secrets, tips, tools, design considerations, materials, the "science" behind it all, and other topics related to building the cars and semi-trucks.
ohiofitter
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

Melting Lead

Post by ohiofitter »

In the past I've always use the stick tape lead weights. But this car I would like to melt in the lead. I'm a pipe fitter by trade. So I have heard older fitters talk about leading pipe joints. Went down to the local tire place and got a handful of 2 oz. used weights. But once I have the melted how big of an area should 1 of the weights take up. And is there any thing special I need to do with the wood..Like put a flux on or not...I've seen guys use solder as ballast But they ended up with a pretty big clump of solder. I was think if I had a form lets say 1/2 tubing by lets say 4 inches long would all 2 ozs. fit
Pinewood Daddy
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Re: Melting Lead

Post by Pinewood Daddy »

Lead is .41 lbs/cu in.
knavekid
Journeyman
Journeyman

Post by knavekid »

Once you know how much weight you need to add, you can take the density of the lead and subtract the density of the wood to get an approximation of how much weight will be added by replacing wood with lead.

Start by determining the density of your wood. It is best to weigh the block before you start to get a good number. Taking the basic block dimensions of 7" x 1.25" x 1.75", you get a volume of 15.3125 cu. in. The standard blocks should weigh between 2.5 oz and 4.5 oz. Calculate the wood density by dividing the weight by the volume. For a 3.5 oz block, the density is:

3.5 / 15.3125 = 0.2286 oz / cubic inch

The density of lead is 11.34 grams / cubic centimeter or 6.555 oz / cu in.

For the 3.5 oz block example, replacing the wood with lead will add:

(6.555 - 0.2286) oz / cu in = 6.3264 oz / cu in

For this example, if you need to add 1.5 oz to your car, you must replace (1.5 / 6.3264) cu in = 0.2371 cu in of wood with lead.