Longer track

Secrets, tips, tools, design considerations, materials, the "science" behind it all, and other topics related to building the cars and semi-trucks.
Brian Clark
Apprentice
Apprentice

Longer track

Post by Brian Clark »

Question for you guys. In your set up what changes would you make if your racing on a 63 foot track vs.a 42 foot track?
Thanks!
Brian Clark
Apprentice
Apprentice

Re: Longer track

Post by Brian Clark »

I'm guessing you would use a little more steer to keep it on the rail, but what do I know I'm a newbie. :D
whodathunkit
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Post by whodathunkit »

Hi Brian, And :welcome:.

Some of the set up changes I'd try for the longer tracks would be to change up the COG.
And maybe take a chance running it someware around 1.5".
But that's just me!

heres a topic about tips for a 56" foot track: hopefuly it will help you out.
http://www.derbytalk.com/viewtopic.php? ... cks#p73321

Sporty, Stan, or FS,
may all have different takes on the placement of the COG for the longer tracks
hopefuly one of them will chime in.

Whoda.
Last edited by whodathunkit on Mon May 12, 2014 5:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
What type of automobile can be spelled the same forwards & backwards?
Stan Pope
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Post by Stan Pope »

I think that Whoda is on the right track.

My logic is that on the longer track you will be coasting farther. This means that friction losses, including those from DFW Toe-in are more important. To me this suggests that moving the CM forward a bit from what is optimum for a short track on order to get by with less toe-in is probably in order. How much? Can't tell you.
Stan
"If it's not for the boys, it's for the birds!"
FatSebastian
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Post by FatSebastian »

Brian Clark wrote:I'm guessing you would use a little more steer...