Bang your head

Secrets, tips, tools, design considerations, materials, the "science" behind it all, and other topics related to building the cars and semi-trucks.
asatxj
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

Bang your head

Post by asatxj »

I have been banging my head on a wall for about 3 years now. So I'm asking for some help. I've been talking to Sporty a bit but in a multitude of counselors....
Here's my situation. I race on a Freedom track 30' race distance. My best time is 2.543 and I'm right there every year. Now the specs.

Awana wheels and axles. (reduced weight wheels did not help much .005)
Wheels true'd as well as possible with a modded DW lathe, Drill press.
Polished bores.
Axles, polished, beveled head. (No grooves at this point)
Prep is polished well, green rouge, Mothers, Simichrome, Techwax, Jig, Krytox
Body Low profile (Poplar) Covered with vinyl (sign maker stuff)
Extended wheelbase
COM between 3/4 and 5/8 Using Tungsten cylinders as low in body as possible.
Axle location raised 1/32 higher than normal in body in rear to lower mass in car.
Rear cant 3*
DFW is 10*
Steer is 1' in 6'

I would welcome some thoughts, I have a couple races to run in April, I'll try some things and run the cars during the race to see how they work.
Thanks in advance.
Awana Commander
Jeep Fleet Maintenance Director
Dad
Bowhunter
I can't break the rules, I write them
!
ngyoung
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

Re: Bang your head

Post by ngyoung »

Main thing I see is that your steer is really shallow. Even many of the best racers start around 4" in 4'. Have you test run it on a track? If so, how stable does it ride? I would think with that low of steer it wouldn't hold it to the rail very well. If you have a test run session before your race I would start with around 4 in 4 and only back off the steer until you start to see wiggles then put it back a touch.