rattle from tungsten weights

Secrets, tips, tools, design considerations, materials, the "science" behind it all, and other topics related to building the cars and semi-trucks.
msxd
Apprentice
Apprentice

rattle from tungsten weights

Post by msxd »

This is my first time building a pinecar with my son. We used a simple wedge design. For weights, we drilled three 3/8in holes on either side of rear axle and used 3oz round tungsten weights. After filling the holes with wood putty and sanding/sealing/painting over it, I realized there is a slight rattle in one of the holes when I shake the car. I likely did not pack in the wood putty tightly and the tungsten weights have some room.

I am worried this may cause the pinecar to wobble as it goes down the track. Should I try to remove the putty and pack it in again? Or is this not a big deal? I have not yet installed the axles and wheels. Races are this weekend.
Last edited by msxd on Tue Jan 21, 2020 4:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
msxd
Apprentice
Apprentice

Re: rattle from tungsten weights

Post by msxd »

Also wanted to add the race is be on a brand new 42' besttrack aluminium track.

If anyone has any experience with this, I would appreciate the feedback. Weight and COG is perfect so far and I would hate to mess up at this stage but if it could slow down the derby car, I would redo it. Thanks in advance for your input
Speedster
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Post by Speedster »

You say you drilled three 3/8" holes on each side of the rear axle. I don't understand what 3oz round tungsten weights are. Are you using 3/8" x 1/2" tungsten cylinders? If so, I'm surprised you got them into a drilled 3/8" hole. That usually requires a drill bit 25/64" so the 3/8" cylinder will fit in the hole. I doubt the rattle will affect the cars operation but you might have some trouble with the inspector.

Where does the car balance?