Refurb For an Old Track

General track discussions.
Littlejon
Journeyman
Journeyman

Refurb For an Old Track

Post by Littlejon »

Hello all! First post here, though I have lurked and gained a lot of knowledge the last few weeks here.

Anyway, I have a few questions about our pack's wooden track. It was free, so of course we gladly took it. However, it is my opinion that we need to do some work on it. It is a three lane track, but we only use the outside two lanes as the middle lane has some irregularities.

What I would like to do is fix those irregularities (I am a pretty good woodworker and pretty knowledgeable where construction is concerned, so this isn't where I need advice) first, then cover the track in melamine or laminate. I was wondering if anyone has done this to an existing wooden track and what some of the issues are to look out for.

Thanks in advance!

Jon
gpraceman
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Refurb For an Old Track

Post by gpraceman »

I'm not sure that I would want to use melamine on a track. The stuff can chip too easily on the edges and is not flexible enough for the curved section.

I have heard of others using laminate and I am sure that it makes for a fast racing surface. Applying it may require you to pop up all of the lane strips so there are no edges (or dried glue) that would pose a problem to a rail rider.
Randy Lisano
Romans 5:8

Awana Grand Prix and Pinewood Derby racing - Where a child, an adult and a small block of wood combine for a lot of fun and memories.
pwdarchitect
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

Post by pwdarchitect »

The laminate would have to be tacked down using an adhesive. You can get laminate in a variety of finishes, one of which incluse a brushed or chrome aluminum which would be higher in price but give you a very smooth running surface. Checkout: http://www.formica.com/publish/site/na/ ... metal.html

This site should give you the correct directions to applying the laminate to the substate for years of enjoyment.