Testing Connectivity without full hardware setup

Discussions on race preparation, race management, sound effects, and other race related software. This includes freeware, shareware and commercially available software.
Post Reply
User avatar
pack529holycross
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: Dr. Phillips, Florida
Contact:

Testing Connectivity without full hardware setup

Post by pack529holycross » Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:37 pm

If I have a Microwizard Timer, the power adapter, the USB adapter and cable, but do not have access to the start section for the starter / trigger switch, is there still a way to test connectivity and working communications between the Timer and the GPRM v10 software?


Nicholas



User avatar
gpraceman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4689
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2003 12:46 am
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Contact:

Re: Testing Connectivity without full hardware setup

Post by gpraceman » Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:43 pm

To a limited extent. You can open up the Hardware Options screen and at least verify that you have communications.

1) Click on the Start Testing button.
2) Disconnect the power from the timer
3) Wait a couple of seconds
4) Reconnect the power to the timer

In the Timer Data box you should see a Micro Wizard copyright statement show up. If so, you have communications. If not, start going through the troubleshooting information in the software's help file.

You really need to have the start switch handy in order to do a full timing test.


Randy Lisano
Romans 5:8

Awana Grand Prix and Pinewood Derby racing - Where a child, an adult and a small block of wood combine for a lot of fun and memories.

User avatar
FatSebastian
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend
Posts: 2646
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 2:49 pm
Location: Boogerton, PA

Re: Testing Connectivity without full hardware setup

Post by FatSebastian » Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:51 pm

pack529holycross wrote:You really need to have the start switch handy in order to do a full timing test.
FWIW, I once did a complete simulated race with a Microwizard timer sitting on the workbench without a starting switch. Once GPRM has received a test signal as gpraceman describes, simply continue to unplug and reconnect the power to the Microwizard timer each time you want to simulate having tripped the starting gate switch.



User avatar
gpraceman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4689
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2003 12:46 am
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Contact:

Re: Testing Connectivity without full hardware setup

Post by gpraceman » Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:57 pm

FatSebastian wrote: Once GPRM has received a test signal as gpraceman describes, simply continue to unplug and reconnect the power to the Microwizard timer each time you want to simulate having tripped the starting gate switch.
True, but that is not very convenient, IMO.


Randy Lisano
Romans 5:8

Awana Grand Prix and Pinewood Derby racing - Where a child, an adult and a small block of wood combine for a lot of fun and memories.

User avatar
gpraceman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4689
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2003 12:46 am
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Contact:

Re: Testing Connectivity without full hardware setup

Post by gpraceman » Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:59 pm

All you really need is a switch and a telephone cord. You can get the switch from Radio Shack and you probably have a telephone cord laying around the house. Wire yourself up test switch.


Randy Lisano
Romans 5:8

Awana Grand Prix and Pinewood Derby racing - Where a child, an adult and a small block of wood combine for a lot of fun and memories.

Post Reply