URGENT: RaceReplay camera initialization error!

Discussions on race preparation, race management, sound effects, and other race related software. This includes freeware, shareware and commercially available software.
kyoo
Journeyman
Journeyman
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Austin, TX

URGENT: RaceReplay camera initialization error!

Post by kyoo » Fri Mar 21, 2014 6:03 pm

Randy.. help.. I'm having our pinewood derby in the morning and I'm getting this error with racereplay and my webcam

Unable to initialize video capture graph (Step=170). Unspecified error
Video State: 0


I reinstalled the race replay and my webcam (Logitech C920) drivers.. the Logitech software shows video just fine from it..

and the racereplay software works fine with my laptop's built in camera, too.. but that won't work for the race!

Help!



kyoo
Journeyman
Journeyman
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: URGENT: RaceReplay camera initialization error!

Post by kyoo » Fri Mar 21, 2014 6:04 pm

I'm running windows 8. I ran the derby last year with the same setup. Though that was V12 not V13.

Are there debug logs somewhere?



User avatar
gpraceman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4607
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2003 12:46 am
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Contact:

Re: URGENT: RaceReplay camera initialization error!

Post by gpraceman » Fri Mar 21, 2014 6:07 pm

What version of RaceReplay are you running? Please include the full version number (e.g. 3.0.1508.0).


Randy Lisano
Romans 5:8

Awana Grand Prix and Pinewood Derby racing - Where a child, an adult and a small block of wood combine for a lot of fun and memories.

kyoo
Journeyman
Journeyman
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: URGENT: RaceReplay camera initialization error!

Post by kyoo » Fri Mar 21, 2014 6:16 pm

I don't have it in front of me at this moment but rest assured I've tried the v13 I downloaded this morning from your site and the v13 update from a few days ago that I also downloaded this morning. So the very latest.



User avatar
gpraceman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4607
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2003 12:46 am
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Contact:

Re: URGENT: RaceReplay camera initialization error!

Post by gpraceman » Fri Mar 21, 2014 6:20 pm

That is not what I asked. What version of RaceReplay?


Randy Lisano
Romans 5:8

Awana Grand Prix and Pinewood Derby racing - Where a child, an adult and a small block of wood combine for a lot of fun and memories.

kyoo
Journeyman
Journeyman
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: URGENT: RaceReplay camera initialization error!

Post by kyoo » Fri Mar 21, 2014 6:33 pm

Same deal. I grabbed the installer and update today.

I tried both versions separately.

3.0.1508 is what I tried first tonight.
And 3.0.916 Initial release after I uninstalled and reinstalled.



kyoo
Journeyman
Journeyman
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: URGENT: RaceReplay camera initialization error!

Post by kyoo » Fri Mar 21, 2014 6:39 pm

Thanks for being there Randy. I'm mobile at the moment and phone battery about to die. I should be home in about an hour and back working on this. I'd appreciate it if there was a fix or some ideas to try tonight! I'll definitely try V2.0 again like last year. Will that work with v13 gprm?



User avatar
gpraceman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4607
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2003 12:46 am
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Contact:

Re: URGENT: RaceReplay camera initialization error!

Post by gpraceman » Fri Mar 21, 2014 6:51 pm

kyoo wrote:Will that work with v13 gprm?
If you are using V13, it would be better to use RR V3. GPRM V13 and RR V3 incorporate changes to help them work better together.

Though, your issue does not seam to be with GPRM. What Video Compressor are you using in RR? Have you tried going into the Properties screen for your video device and seeing if there is some setting there that may be causing the issue? Unfortunately, that error is pretty vague, but if it pertains to video capture, that's where I would start looking.


Randy Lisano
Romans 5:8

Awana Grand Prix and Pinewood Derby racing - Where a child, an adult and a small block of wood combine for a lot of fun and memories.

kyoo
Journeyman
Journeyman
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: URGENT: RaceReplay camera initialization error!

Post by kyoo » Fri Mar 21, 2014 6:56 pm

I was trying the default DV something or other. And then I tried another one too. Same thing.

I'll take a look at device properties when I return.

Are there any logs? Is that error generated by rracereplay? If I google it there are no hits.



User avatar
gpraceman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4607
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2003 12:46 am
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Contact:

Re: URGENT: RaceReplay camera initialization error!

Post by gpraceman » Fri Mar 21, 2014 7:05 pm

kyoo wrote:Are there any logs? Is that error generated by rracereplay? If I google it there are no hits.
The Microsoft DirectShow video library is generating the "unspecified error" and RR is displaying it along with some other information.

When trying to get RR and GPRM working together, it is better to first make sure they can run standalone. You should be able to preview, record, and do replay from RR before you even trying using with GPRM. Once you can do that, test the communications between apps using the SendMessage app. That is installed with both GPRM and RR. It sends the same messages that GPRM will send, but is easier as you do not need your timer connected. Then once you successfully run things from SendMessage, then try doing so from GPRM.

As far as video compressors goes, first try not using one (select the blank entry).


Randy Lisano
Romans 5:8

Awana Grand Prix and Pinewood Derby racing - Where a child, an adult and a small block of wood combine for a lot of fun and memories.

kyoo
Journeyman
Journeyman
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: URGENT: RaceReplay camera initialization error!

Post by kyoo » Fri Mar 21, 2014 7:23 pm

Ok.. I'm home now.. I tried the blank video compressor line.. GPRM closed.. RR only open.. preview button emits that error..



User avatar
gpraceman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4607
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2003 12:46 am
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Contact:

Re: URGENT: RaceReplay camera initialization error!

Post by gpraceman » Fri Mar 21, 2014 7:25 pm

kyoo wrote:Ok.. I'm home now.. I tried the blank video compressor line.. GPRM closed.. RR only open.. preview button emits that error..
Then I would check your settings for the video camera via the Properties screen.

RR needs an uncompressed video stream, so I would check for an option to remove any compression.


Randy Lisano
Romans 5:8

Awana Grand Prix and Pinewood Derby racing - Where a child, an adult and a small block of wood combine for a lot of fun and memories.

User avatar
gpraceman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4607
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2003 12:46 am
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Contact:

Re: URGENT: RaceReplay camera initialization error!

Post by gpraceman » Fri Mar 21, 2014 7:30 pm

If you can, post a screenshot of that Properties screen or send it via email. Those are settings specific to your camera. RR has no control over them. It can merely display that screen.


Randy Lisano
Romans 5:8

Awana Grand Prix and Pinewood Derby racing - Where a child, an adult and a small block of wood combine for a lot of fun and memories.

kyoo
Journeyman
Journeyman
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: URGENT: RaceReplay camera initialization error!

Post by kyoo » Fri Mar 21, 2014 7:31 pm

I can't seem to find any properties page other than the one via "Devices & Printers" or "Device Manager".. and those are both the same properties page with no real options.. just setting details of the driver.. but no option to change anything.. still looking.. but if you have any other pointers in the mean time, let me know..



kyoo
Journeyman
Journeyman
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:38 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: URGENT: RaceReplay camera initialization error!

Post by kyoo » Fri Mar 21, 2014 7:34 pm

I emailed you some screen caps..



Post Reply