My son's car

Show off your cool vehicle designs and track burning speedsters!
Pinehead Rick
Journeyman
Journeyman

My son's car

Post by Pinehead Rick »

This is my son's car this year...he helped sand and apply the spraypaint, also we designed all the stickers ourselves...(he wanted a Sonic car)... the fenders are sculpted with epoxy putty which put a lot of weight to the car (I'm new at this) so I drilled out most of the wood to get the body down around 2.4 ounces.... I will put the lead in the back reservoir which will put the center of gravity right around the inch mark above the rear axles.. tires were just put on for the photos... need to give them attention next! My son is excited and he will be helping to tune the axles and wheels this week-end
ranman106
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

Re: My son's car

Post by ranman106 »

Great job on the decals! What did you use to design them? My son wanted a Bionicle car. We downloaded pics from their web site, resized, and printed them on decal paper using Testors Decal Maker. They turned out pretty good we think.
The Wedge - It's not a doorstop, it's a way of life!
TDean
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

Post by TDean »

I'm not seeing Pinehead Ricks photo :(
is it just me -- or anybody else having this trouble?

never mind -- now it came through -- looks great!!
TDean
dknowles67
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

Post by dknowles67 »

The car looks fantastic!

However, it does bring to mind a pet peeve of mine.
IMHO, the Pinewood Derby should get the Parent/Child to spend time together. It sounds like you and your son worked on this together - that's great! The rest of this message is not intended as a personal attack on you, but to pose a question to the forum. Sorry to single you out by posting on your son's car picture.