What say the masses?

General discussions for car and semi-truck racers.
CM924
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

What say the masses?

Post by CM924 »

As scout leaders we are asked to make concessions for handicapped boys, we have one such boy in my Pack who is severely autistic, and has a single Mother. Now mind you I am new to all this, this is my first time on the merry-go-round as well as my first PWD, so I need your input.

Last night we had a pre-weigh in for the boys during the den meetings, so that they could check their car weights and have time to make adjustments prior to the race next week. Well this boys Mom steps up and shows me the car they have and asks if I know how to fix a break it has on the front end ( no big deal a piece of balsa wood for a fin that could easily be removed or replaced) She proceeds to tell me she knows it is a fast car because it came in fourth in District last year ( insert screeching tire sounds here). The rules clearly state a new car each year, but here I have a handicapped kid with an old car, I asked the Committee Chairman what we should do and he is at a loss too. I really don't think the boy should be allowed to race the car, however now we are a week away from the event and I know she plans to use that car. How would you all proceed in this matter?
Jeff
Cubmaster Pack 924
gpraceman
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: What say the masses?

Post by gpraceman »

Personally, I don't think the car should be raced. Word would get around and it would give people heartburn, especially if if does well. I recommned that you or someone else in the pack offer to help them build another car. There's still some time.
Randy Lisano
Romans 5:8

Awana Grand Prix and Pinewood Derby racing - Where a child, an adult and a small block of wood combine for a lot of fun and memories.
hwsjr
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

Post by hwsjr »

You can't knowingly allow any child to cheat no matter how sad the story. It's not fair to everyone else.