"Nuts & Bolts" Question About Awards/Times

General race coordinator discussions.
RaceFan
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

"Nuts & Bolts" Question About Awards/Times

Post by RaceFan »

I'm running the pinewood derby in 3 weeks for our pack which consists of over 100 cub scouts. I have never done this before and believe I am in over my head.

We've got a good track & computer timing system which was made by a couple of very intelligent leaders several years ago. Most all of these guys have moved on as their kids are older.

Here is how it all works (or this is my understanding at this point):

1. The track is 3 lanes and each car runs down each lane and the computer gives the average time for each car at the end. It also ranks the 3 cars in a 1st, 2nd & 3rd place for that "heat" (Is that the right term?) At any time, I can use the program & sort the cars by this average time.

2. We are running Tigers, Wolves, Bears, Web I, Web II to determine 1st, 2nd, & 3rd place winners in each rank. The computer does this very well. (oh yeah, we've got me-toos and an adult division but think it's best not to pit me-toos and adults against the cub scouts so I guess those divisions only compete once and not in the finals).

3. HERE's the big question: How do I run the "pack finals"? Run all 1st place winners from each rank against each other and determine 1st, 2nd, 3rd place that way?

We are setting up the night before in the gym to check everything out. Any advice is appreciated, thanks.

I don't want to run this event too quickly. If a car does poorly I guess the cub scout is only going to see it go down the track 3 times.

Does this sound like it's run correctly & fairly?
blcrow33
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

Re: "Nuts & Bolts" Question About Awards/Times

Post by blcrow33 »