New to scouts and derbies

How to have useful construction workshops.
msfprobass
Apprentice
Apprentice

New to scouts and derbies

Post by msfprobass »

Hello all. My name is Mike my son is a first year scout and this will be his first derby. I did scouts as a child but stopped after 5th grade. He picked out a design(truck) and we cut it out(looks pretty good). I remembered enough that we need to sand the wheels so I got them and the axles good and smooth using my drill as a lathe( I'm a maintenance mechanic so I have good mechanical apptitude and my 8 year old probably has even more). Any way I'm draggin on here......we filled in the original axle slots and are going to drill holes and glue the axles in...my question is using a truck design body, what would y'all recomend as the best distance. It looks like about where the rear axle slot used to be will be pretty close to where the back wheels go but any dimensions you can give for the best performance. Our race is this weekend so I dont have time to try all the things you guys mention, I'll just chance it on the sanded wheels and polished axles and weight placement. Which I assume should be near the rear about 1" or so in front of axle? If not some help on that wouldnt hurt either. Again I understand mechanics as I am an industrial mechanic but I'm not an engineer( but I believe I'm raising one), so maybe this isnt the best location for the weights, just let me know any ideas. Thanks
pack529holycross
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

Re: New to scouts and derbies

Post by pack529holycross »