First year running race (FRIDAY!!) Need santiy check

Discussions on race planning, preparations and how to run a "fair" and fun race.
TheDez
Apprentice
Apprentice

First year running race (FRIDAY!!) Need santiy check

Post by TheDez »

Hi Everyone!

This is my first year coordinating our packs pinewood derby and we are also lucky enough to be hosting the district race.

Our pack derby is Saturday and I am just looking for a sanity check to see if I am missing anything. We have a roughly 65 scouts and I anticipate a turnout of around 50.

Registration: Friday Night - Track will be setup for testing and a tune station will be available for last minute adjustments before the cars are checked in. We have screwdrivers, pliers, drills, sandpaper, glue guns, graphite, extra weights (Stick-on tire balance weights in ¼ ounce segments). We have a digital scale from the scout shop. I have come up with a registration card which will be filled out when the scout signs in on Friday and mark offs for Friday sign-in, Friday car check-in (Car weighed in and checked out ok), Saturday sign-in (To make sure they are present and are in uniform), and final check-out (Return car, award given etc). The assistant cubmaster will then enter all the names into our race software Friday night based on the names and car numbers assigned.

Race day: Saturday - We have the track, software, laptop, overhead projector and PA system ready. The derby will be in the school gym and we will have food service in the cafeteria. We are planning an intermission half way thru the race to allow everyone a break and a chance to get some food (45 minutes?).

Track: Our track is 4 lanes using The Judge timing system and Derby master software. We plan on doing eight rounds so each kid’s car gets to run each lane twice. The track will be cleaned at the beginning of the race and during intermission using a micro fiber cloth (Aluminum track).