What is COM, Weights, Polishing and tweaking

Discussions on race planning, preparations and how to run a "fair" and fun race.
millettbbc
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

What is COM, Weights, Polishing and tweaking

Post by millettbbc »

I see many people reference COM. What is it? I am not an engineer, actually, I just like making the cars and the race is a bonus.

Though I just like to make the cars, since I do race them I want to do well.

Any thoughts of best way to polish your wheels and axles to make them fast. Where we race we must use official Awana wheels and axles and the only "do nots" is:
1. Don't alter the width of the wheel, or the general shape.
2. Axles must be from the kit or purchased through awana but can be polished and taped heads.

We are allowed to round over the bottom corner of the body and apply lube to any area we please. We are allowed to use any lube.

Are there any tried-and-true methods to making them fast?

How about weight placement? any ideas? Does it matter what you use for weight or is weight weight no matter what it is?
PWD: The bug everyone catches and no one wants to let go.
Pinewood Daddy
Pine Head Legend
Pine Head Legend

Re: What is COM, Weights, Polishing and tweaking

Post by Pinewood Daddy »

Here is the DerbyTalk encyclopedia. http://derbytalk.com/lexicon.php

Spend a few hours reading the Car Construction forum and you'll find many answers to your questions.

The proper weight and location (COM) is very important along with reducing friction between the wheels, axles & body. This will give you speed. Good alignment will allow that speed to carry the car to finish quickly.

Stan's "How To Build a Winner" is a good place to start. http://members.aol.com/standcmr/lbw1.htm
pack529holycross
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

Post by pack529holycross »

millettbbc wrote:Any thoughts of best way to polish your wheels and axles to make them fast

Are there any tried-and-true methods to making them fast?