First year running Derby

Discussions on race planning, preparations and how to run a "fair" and fun race.
BaltimoreRob
Apprentice
Apprentice

First year running Derby

Post by BaltimoreRob »

Hello All. This is my first year running the PWD for my pack. I have also volunteered to run the District Derby. Our Pack is purchasing a 3 lane Best track, Micro Wizard Timer, And software. In Years past we ran on a hand me down track.

For this event I have set up two dates for a workshop. I think more boys could have better cars if they had some help from advanced builders.

How does this sound each boy receives a ribbon for participating. Top leader for each Den receives a small trophy and the top three over all receive larger trophies?

I was thinking about having a boys vote type of contest for best paint, best shaped, and so forth. Does anyone have any other idea's for this? I was going to use painted little wood chit's for the voting process. Each racer get's color coded chit to place in a plastic cup near the entries. Each color stand for each category. How does this sound?

I was hoping to do this for the district also.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.
PWD_addict
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

Re: First year running Derby

Post by PWD_addict »

Hey B-Rob--
Welcome to DerbyTalk. What District are you in? I am PWD Chair for the Chesapeake District.

For our Pack races, we provide the Red, White, and Blue ribbons for the Top Three in rank. Then, the fastest in rank competes in the finals (5 cars) for a trophy. We award trophies for the Top 5 finalists. That guarantees that the top fastest in rank get a trophy. We also have a Sibling trophy.

Everyone receives a PWD patch.

We have separate design categories which are decided on by the Boy Scout leaders. Best Scout Spirit, Paint, Design, etc. Usually give certificates for them.