Question on Wood Block

Discussions on race planning, preparations and how to run a "fair" and fun race.
91Cat
Apprentice
Apprentice

Question on Wood Block

Post by 91Cat »

While helping my son with his Boy Scout pinewood derby care I drilled a hole through the top of the body. I bought another block of wood from Michael's and we re-built the car. While reviewing the rules one last time I noticed that they specify that the wheels, axels, and body wood shall be as provided in the official BSA Pinewood Derby Kit. Well being a rookie I bought a block of wood that was identical to the one in the kit however it was the brand Pinecar. Is the Pinecar wood identical to that in the official BSA kit? I certainly don't want to cheat but I hate the thought of having to withdraw my son from the race.
gpraceman
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Question on Wood Block

Post by gpraceman »

The wood really isn't the issue (to me), but the PineCar block may have a different wheelbase and/or position of the slots, which may cause you problems with the rules. Though it seems your rules are mandating that it must be a BSA block.

Why not patch the hole with bondo or wood putty? Those cover up lots of car-tastrophes

Where in the Denver area are you?
Randy Lisano
Romans 5:8

Awana Grand Prix and Pinewood Derby racing - Where a child, an adult and a small block of wood combine for a lot of fun and memories.
91Cat
Apprentice
Apprentice

Post by 91Cat »

Thanks gp. I may try to repair the first car.
dna1990
Master Pine Head
Master Pine Head

Post by dna1990 »

Every group and PWD Committee different - but I suggest straight up asking your chairman or leader.

Tell them the exact story and block that was purchased.

If it is not a pre-shaped block, our pack would probably allow it on an exception basis. But not on axle or wheels.