HELP!! Attempting to make a Light Tree

Drag racing style light trees
davidpai
Apprentice
Apprentice

HELP!! Attempting to make a Light Tree

Post by davidpai »

I am trying to make the 110V light tree that Julian Richards shows here within this website:

http://grandprix-race-central.com/modul ... age&pid=11

He made his using 220V and I even recieved an email from him about his system. The question I have is he stated that I would need to change or calculate the value for the Triacs to be used on the 110V system.

I am not sure what this would be or how to do this, can anyone help?

I am a novice in the area of electronics, not a newbie but definitley not a guru.
gpraceman
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: HELP!! Attempting to make a Light Tree

Post by gpraceman »

BTA08-600BW Snubberless Triac (ST Microelectronics)
or MAC8M Triac
These are the suitable parts specified in the parts list. Either of these will work. The circuit posted there is 110V, not 220V.

That is an AC circuit, so you do need to be very careful with your wiring to make sure you don't get a short :shock:
Randy Lisano
Romans 5:8

Awana Grand Prix and Pinewood Derby racing - Where a child, an adult and a small block of wood combine for a lot of fun and memories.
davidpai
Apprentice
Apprentice

Post by davidpai »

Randy,

Thanks Bunches! I have ordered those from www.newark.com so I hope I am good to go.

Thanks!! :D
gpraceman
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by gpraceman »

I know that you already ordered parts, but there is an alternative to the AC circuit plans.

There are some 12V DC plans posted on this Yahoo group http://groups.yahoo.com/group/PinewoodTimer/. You have to go to the files section and then look for these two files.

FULL TREE circuit.pdf
starting tree.pdf

I've been trying to get a hold of the author to see if he'd be willing to get these plans on the GrandPrix Race Central website. I think building a low voltage DC circuit would be easier.
Randy Lisano